• Home
  • About Us
  • Join up
  • Committee
  • Email

  • 2002 Committee

    President Ms Anne Noonan
    Immediate Past President Mr Ronan Deany
    Vice President Ms Mary Taylor
    Honorary Secretary Ms Catherine O Brien
    Honorary Treasurer Ms Joanne Wilson
    Membership Secretary Ms Orla Thomas
    General Committee
    Mr Ian Candy, Mr Harry O'Neill, Mr Darach Haughey, Mr Ian Carroll, Ms Dervilla Campbell-Grieve, Ronan Collins.

    Sir Joseph Kemp, C.B.E. 1931
    Col. C. D. Myles, O.B.E. 1932
    Prof. F. A. Redmond 1933
    Dr. W. B. A. Moore, O.B.E. 1934
    Mr. B. H. C. Hallowes 1935
    Mr. F. P. R. James 1936
    Sir Ernest Williams 1937
    Dr. G. W. Pope 1938
    Mr. C. G. Perdue 1939
    Mr. J. C. M. Grenham, M.B.E. 1940
    Hon. C. E. M. Terry, O.B.E. 1941
    Mr. P. J. A. Hamilton 1942
    Dr. The Hon. P. J. Fehily, O.B.E. 1947
    Mr. W. La B. Sparrow1948
    Hon. D. J. S. Crozier, C.M.G. 1949
    Mr. F. G. Maunder 1950
    Sir John Griffin, Q. C. 1951
    Mr. E. R. Farrell 1952
    Mr. F. Shanks, O.B.E. 1953
    Dr. J. H. McElney 1954
    Miss Elma Kelly 1955
    Hon. H. D. M. Barton, M.B.E. 1956
    Mr. B. T. Flanagan 1957
    Professor B. Harrison 1958
    Dr. A. W. Dawson-Grove, M.B.E. 1959
    Mr. J. A. Fox 1960
    Sir Michael Hogan, Kt., C.M.G. 1961
    Professor Sean Mackey, O.B.E. 1962
    Mr. J. F. Lindsay 1963
    Mr. Justice B. Jennings 1964
    Prof. E. O'F. Walsh 1965
    Mr. J. A. O'Hanrahan 1966
    Hon. C.E.M. Terry, O.B.E., O.ST.J., J.P. 1967
    Mr. D. R. Bland 1968
    Mr. G. I. McCabe 1969
    Mr. T. B. P. O'Connell 1970
    Mr. B. F. Slevin, Q.P.M., J.P. 1971
    Mr. K. B. O'Sullivan 1972
    Prof. Sean Raferty 1973
    Mr. L. Power, Q.P.M. 1974
    Mr. S. G. Elliott 1975
    Mr. J. P. MacMahon., C.P.M. 1976
    Mrs. B. M. M. Murray 1977
    Mr. T. A. Fitzpatrick 1978
    Mr. T. Frawley 1979
    Mr. B. Keown 1980
    Mr. McDermott 1981
    Mr. H. Williams 1982
    Mr. G. Fields 1983
    Mr. B. Griffin 1984
    Mrs. B. McKenzie 1985
    Mr. D. Agnew1986
    Mr. J. R. P. Breen 1987
    Mrs. E. Shannon 1988
    Mr. J. N. McCaffrey 1989
    Mr. A. Mackay 1990
    Mr. P. Hurley 1991
    Mr. P. McMahon 1992
    Mr. G. McEnery 1993
    Mr. Robert Farrell 1994
    Ms. Molly Donoghue 1995
    Mr. Dan Manning 1996
    Ms. Fiona Loughrey 1997
    Mr. Ian Candy 1998
    Mrs. Thérèse Beresford 1999
    Mr. Harry O'Neill 2000
    Mr. Darach Haughey 2001


    Missionary history in Ireland is dominated by the figure of St. Patrick, whose 7th century biographers, Tirechán and Muirchú, credited him with converting all the Irish to Christianity and won for him the status of
    national apostle.

    A 9th century record, the Book of Armagh, includes a work by Patrick himself, the "Confessio" ("Confession", a reply to charges made by British ecclesiastics), in which he describes his life at a Roman villa in Britain, his capture by Irish raiders, and his seven years of slavery in Ireland. Recovering his freedom, he was educated and ordained to the priesthood and was eventually sent as a missionary to Ireland. He concentrated on the north and west of the country, achieving remarkable success; he did not himself claim to have converted all Ireland.

    Confusion exists regarding the chronology of Patrick's life, and it is seriously contended that tradition came to merge the experience of two men, the continental Palladius sent in A.D.431 and the Patrick of the "Confessio". No strong evidence supports the traditional date (AD432) for the beginning of Patrick's mission, while of the rival dates (AD461/
    462 and AD492/493) given for his death in annals and biographies, the latter is now preferred.

    © 2003 St. Patricks Society of Hong Kong Ltd
    | HOME